Questions and answers #1 


The rain is falling down along the windows and the threes are moving, side to side, by the wind outside, it makes me cold only looking at it,- which isn’t the typical summer weather I would like to have. Therefor, I’m taking some time to answer your questions from Instagram and snapchat (@ moaoaoaoa). I will do it in two, maybe even in three, different posts, because of the big amount of questions you’ve sent to me.

When did you realise dance is your thing? I’ve been told I really have the body for being a ballerina, many times before, but it wasn’t until a few years ago, that I could see the results coming, by working hard in every class. It was around this time I realised I want to be a ballerina and I’ve worked hard, every day, since then.

How much work does it take to become a good dancer like you? How many hours a day do you stretch? I guess hard work beats talent, if talent doesn’t work hard (fave quote) and hard work can get you far! I can’t really tell how much I stretch every day. Let’s say it’s a normal day with ballet class and everything, then I do around an hour warmup, including at least 15-20 minutes stretching to get my muscles going. I do this only to maintain my flexibility and to get warm. If you want to get more flexible I recommend you to take,  minimum, 30 minutes from your day, everyday and you’ll see results in a few weeks.

What is your favourite part of the ballet class like barre, allegro, pirouettes, repertoire etc and what is your favourite barre exercise? In ballet class, my favourite part is to do the barre and there I like plié, adagio and fondu.

What do you generally eat to perform at your best? Do you follow any diet? What is your diet like? I don’t follow any diet and I’ve never done so either. I eat whatever I like, whenever I like it. To perform at your best, it’s important to never skip a meal and to try to eat healthy, not in the meaning of removing all the sugar from your life, but to cut down on the fast food.

How much time do you dance in a day? At the Royal Swedish ballet school, we danced around 5 hours a day, sometimes less and sometimes more. In Zurich we will dance 40 hours a week, it is more than at my former school, which I’m really looking forward to!

When your finding life extra hard what do you do to stay motivated? I usually talk to my friends, my mom or little sister. It always helps me to set up goals and to think about how great it will feel when reaching them. It can be either getting the highest grade, being able to do more pirouettes, lifting your leg higher etc. I find books very inspiring and motivating, reading is a great way if you want to unconnect from the dance world, for a while.

How many siblings do you have? I have three younger siblings, which makes us four children in the family. We also have a dog and a cat.

What is your favourite ballet? Actually I don’t know… I would say I pretty much like every ballet, more or less.

What is your favourite turnout exercises? I will write a whole post about this later- when I’m able to point my foot more so I can upload photos together with explanations.

Do you have any role models within the dance, people you look up to? Yes I do! Without a doubt, Svetlana Zahkarova inspires me a lot, but also dancers such as Natalia Osipova and Sylvie Guillem. 

What variations are you currently working on? Right now I’m on summer break, which means I’m not working on any variations for the moment. This past year I’ve been doing le corsaire, bluebird, sleeping beauty act 3, Pharao’s daughter etc.

Which of the performances are you the most proud of? This is a pretty hard question. Last year’s spring performance was very fun. We did “pas d’action” (la Bayadere) and I did quite much in that piece, which was super fun. It was also very nice to be selected to participate in the Nutcracker, together with the company at the opera, during Christmas times.

Are you planning on continuing ballet as a job in the future? YES! Maybe not for my whole life, but I definitely want to work as a ballet dancer for some years.

Thanks so everyone who sent me questions! A part 2 & 3 will come in the nearest future.

 

Leave a Reply

