Why I choose to dance 

The most common question, that is always asked, if you tell someone that you are a dancer is: “Why do you dance?” It’s in those moments I just want to snap back “Well, why do you breath?”  (No, I have never done that because I am not that kinda rude person, but I guess you know what I mean. It is too tiring explaining why, either it takes too much time or maybe it just sounds very made up.) 

I dance, simple but truly; because I love it. As you already may know, ballet is what I like to do the most. I don’t only like the moments on stage when performing, I love how much hard work you have to put in to being a ballet dancer.

Being on stage and performing is a wonderful feeling but for me, I like the time spent working in the studio just as much. Moving to the music while making every little movement precise but yet soft and correct. Early mornings and late nights are the truth of being a dancer, and I wouldn’t like it any differently.

I live by the quote “Hard work beats talent, if talent doesn’t work hard.” I recently realized that ballet is not only a huge part of my life, but also a huge part of me, of who I am. It may sound kind of exaggerating, but right now in my life, I wouldn’t be able to live without ballet.

I am overexcited to move to Zurich and to attend such a good ballet school that has the russian style and teaching, which is what I prefer the most. Until just recently, I had totally decided to not only do the full time program at taZ, but also to, at the same time read & learn the academics you do in Sweden- just like if you go to a, so called, “normal” gymnasium/ high school. Basically what this is, is that you do a full distance academic program while you dance. You dedicate the few hours of free time to learn and study. When I saw my schedule and kind of understood a bit what my life will look like over there- I took the decision not to take the full gymnasium course the first year. 40 hours dance a week and then studying outside that? Sounds a bit too much for me, even though I love to learn and study. This year I will only focus on dancing, learning the new language and getting to know the country. In the second year, I will most likely start with the distance reading. The reason why I am not choosing to quit all the academics and only totally dedicate my life to ballet, is because if anything ever happens, you have something to fall back on. Besides, I don’t want to be a ballerina for the rest of my life, but after some years of working I want to settle down, get my own family and start studying- to later become a lawyer.

To make a summery of this post. I choose to dance because I realized how much hard work and dedication you must put in to the life of being a ballerina, and I fell in love with it.

“See the music, feel the dance.”

2 Replies to “Why I choose to dance ”

  1. I’m sure you must hear this all the time, but, TRULY, YOU ARE AMAZING. Honestly you are one of the most incredible people I’ve ever known (even though we have never met) and it’s SO inspiring and beautiful to see you dedicating yourself to what you love with so much passion.

    Like

Leave a Reply

