Happy tears 

It’s been 8 months since I got the stress fracture in my back. 8 months on a roller coaster. Tears, laughs, pain, challenges, meeting new people, moving around, experiencing new things. 8 months of not knowing where to go or what to do are finally over. 

These past three days I’ve been taking class with the ninth graders at the Royal Swedish Baller school and yesterday a jury (consisting of all the teachers in the upper school) was watching me as I was participating in the class. The barre went really well, the center was good though I was deadly tired. The jumps were alright and pointe went OK. When the class was finished everyone went out including the teacher holding the class so that I could do my solo for the jury. After that they gave me feedback.

Long story short, they told me I was a beautiful dancer with a really good body and they were so happy to have me back again. Hearing that made me truly happy. My feedback was to apply the same various dynamics in ballet as I do in contemporary and to loosen up the upper body a bit. As this was an (informal?) audition they told me I am free to come after summer. Finally. Finally I have a guaranteed place. A ballet school and a life to look forward to.

I am SO happy and SO relived to finally know where to go and what to do in life. I am also SO happy that the teachers were that positive about me and they really meant what they said. It truly touched me.

I am healed. Body, heart, mind and soul. Words cannot describe how thankful I am for the support I’ve got from the many amazing people I’ve been surrounded with. I would never be able to get back to dancing without them. Physically and mentally support. Everything from physiotherapy in Delhi, to the many hours spent working out with my ballet friend, support from my family and an especially big thanks my mom. For never giving up fighting for me to be able to get back to dance. ❤

Happy tears are running down my cheeks as I write this. Is it a passion or addiction? Either way, it is what I want to do and so I will.

It’s been 8 months since I got the stress fracture in my back. 8 months on a roller coaster. Tears, laughs, pain, challenges, meeting new people, moving around, experiencing new things. 8 months of not knowing where to go or what to do are finally over.

Although I wish no one will have to go through what I did I am thankful for everything I’ve got to experience during these months. I’ve grown as a person and I am much stronger physically and mentally now. Not to mention the amazing friends I’ve made that I am sure I will stay in touch with my whole life.

I can assure you, as a normal person you will never understand this but going to a (normal) academic school as a dancer has been more than hard (like actually). How do I even act around a society consisting of people that are not wearing warmup boots let alone doing everything with the legs turned out nor see great potential in long corridors?! Corridors are for grand allegro and pirouettes. 

Lots of love xxx 

Leave a Reply

